RBLP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

RBLP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No current, verified pass rate for the core RBLP exam has been published by the issuer.
  • The core exam is a 1.5-hour oral assessment costing US$595, with no multiple-choice component.
  • An older ACE record cites an 86% minimum per domain, but it is not confirmed as today's cut score.
  • A failed first attempt allows a $345, one-hour reexamination scheduled 30-90 days after the original exam.

The Short Answer: No Verified Pass Rate Exists

If you searched for the Resilience-Building Leadership Professional pass rate hoping for a tidy percentage, here is the honest finding: there isn't a verified, current figure for the core RBLP certification. The issuer, Resilience-Building Leader Program, Inc. (operating as RBLP Leadership Certifications), does not publish an aggregate pass rate for the core credential. Any number you see attached to it without a citation to the issuer should be treated with suspicion.

That may feel unsatisfying, but it is useful information in its own right. This article lays out what the data does and does not show, explains why the exam's format makes a single pass-rate number less meaningful than it would be for a multiple-choice test, and shows you how to judge your own readiness using the criteria the issuer does publish. If you are new to the credential entirely, our overview What Is RBLP Certification? covers the basics before you dive into the numbers here.

Scope note: This article covers the core Resilience-Building Leadership Professional (RBLP) certification only. The issuer also offers RBLP Coach and RBLP Trainer credentials, which add further modules and domains. Nothing here should be read as describing those higher tiers.

What the Issuer Actually Publishes

The useful way to approach a missing statistic is to inventory what is available. For the core RBLP, the issuer's public materials establish the following:

ItemWhat Is PublishedWhat Is Not Published
Exam format1.5-hour oral examination via Microsoft TeamsFixed question count; scored vs. unscored split
Exam feeUS$595 (application is free)Any member/non-member price distinction
Retake$345 one-hour oral reexamination, 30-90 days after originalRetake success statistics
Scoring approachCompetency cut scoreNumerical value of the current cut score
Results timingEmailed on the third business dayScore breakdowns by domain
Content scopeThree competency domains, seven leader tasks eachPercentage weights per domain
Pass rateNothing for the core credentialAny aggregate pass/fail statistic

Notice the pattern: the issuer is transparent about logistics, fees, and the competency framework, but silent on outcome statistics. For a deeper look at the logistics side, see our RBLP certification cost breakdown, which separates the exam fee from preparation training costs.

Why an Oral Exam Changes the Pass-Rate Question

Pass rates are most meaningful for standardized, multiple-choice tests, where a large pool of candidates answers the same bank of items and a statistical cut score separates pass from fail. The core RBLP exam works differently. There is no multiple-choice examination at all. Instead, candidates sit with RBLP's own exam administrators over Microsoft Teams (Teams is simply the delivery platform) and demonstrate competence through conversation.

According to the issuer's exam policies, candidates are expected to:

  • Explain factual knowledge (the "what" of resilience-building leadership)
  • Explain conceptual knowledge (the "why" behind the practices)
  • Explain procedural knowledge (the "how" of applying them)
  • Analyze and evaluate their own leader/follower experience
  • Propose an applied leadership plan

This is a performance-based assessment. Your result depends on how well you articulate and apply ideas, not on recognizing the right option among four. That makes the exam feel quite different from a typical certification test, and it is one reason a headline pass-rate percentage would tell you less than you might expect. If you are weighing how demanding this format is, read How Hard Is the RBLP Exam? for a fuller discussion of difficulty.

Technical requirements matter: You need a computer or tablet, reliable video and internet, and a quiet, private setting. Cell phones are not authorized. A connectivity problem or a noisy environment is an avoidable risk, so test your setup well before exam day.

The 86% Figure: What It Is and What It Isn't

If you dig around, you may find a reference to an 86% minimum. This comes from the issuer-linked ACE National Guide record (RBLP-0001, Version 1), which states an 86% minimum in each domain. It is tempting to treat that as "the passing score" and, by extension, the basis for a pass rate. That would be a mistake, for three reasons.

  1. Different domain labels. The ACE record uses the older domain names: Create a Positive Climate, Develop Cohesion, and Provide Purpose. The current public framework uses Team Climate, Team Cohesion, and Individual Purpose.
  2. Unconfirmed applicability. There is no confirmation that 86% is the cut score for the current public competency framework or the current exam.
  3. A cut score is not a pass rate. Even if 86% were current, it would describe the threshold, not the share of candidates who clear it.

Likewise, any older cross-program success claim you encounter is not a verified current core-exam pass rate. If you want to understand what is and is not known about scoring, our RBLP passing score guide goes deeper into the evidence.

Key Takeaway

Treat the 86% figure as a historical data point from an older record, not as today's passing standard or a pass rate. Prepare to demonstrate genuine competence across all three domains rather than aiming at a number that may not apply.

What We Know About Scoring and Results

Current policy uses a competency cut score, but the numerical value is not disclosed. In practical terms, that means the issuer evaluates whether you have demonstrated the required competence, and it does not tell candidates the exact threshold in advance. Results are emailed on the third business day after testing, so you will not leave the Teams session with an answer.

Several things remain unestablished in the public record: whether candidates may use notes or reference materials during the oral exam, how many questions are asked, and how scored and unscored content is split. If any of these matter to your planning, confirm them directly with the issuer before your exam date rather than assuming. For scheduling specifics, see RBLP exam dates and scheduling.

Retake Rules and the Cost of a Miss

Even without a published pass rate, the retake policy tells you what a first-attempt miss would cost. The structure is unusually specific:

AttemptFormatFeeTiming
First attempt1.5-hour oral exam$595After approved preparation training
Second attemptOne-hour oral reexamination$34530-90 days after original exam
After another unsuccessful resultNew full examPer current fee scheduleAt least one year after the original exam date

The one-year lockout after a second unsuccessful result is the detail most worth absorbing. The second attempt is shorter and cheaper, but the consequence of missing it is a long wait. This effectively raises the stakes of the reexamination and is a strong argument for treating your first attempt as the real attempt rather than a trial run.

Remember also that the booking page requires proof of approved preparation training for Modules 1-3 before you can register. The issuer's $395 average preparation-training cost is not a fixed provider fee and is not an exam-inclusive package price, so budget for training and exam separately. Our RBLP requirements guide walks through eligibility and prerequisites in full.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Stumble

Because no outcome data is published, we cannot say which domain has the lowest success rate, and we will not pretend otherwise. What we can do is identify where the exam's format creates risk. The core certification page publishes three competency domains with seven leader tasks under each. No percentage weights or highest-weighted domain are published, and the 21 listed tasks do not equal 21 exam questions or an exhaustive list of prompts. Treat them as the scope of what you must be able to discuss.

Domain 1: Team Climate

Climate questions typically ask you to explain how a leader shapes the environment a team works in, and to ground that in your own experience.

  • Be ready to define climate concepts (factual), justify why they matter (conceptual), and describe how you would act (procedural).
  • Prepare specific examples from work, athletics, student organizations, or volunteer service.

Domain 2: Team Cohesion

Cohesion centers on how leaders build bonds and shared commitment among team members.

  • Practice articulating the difference between a group that gets along and a team that is genuinely cohesive.
  • Prepare to evaluate moments when cohesion strengthened or broke down, from both leader and follower perspectives.

Domain 3: Individual Purpose

Purpose addresses how leaders help each person connect their role to something meaningful.

  • Expect to link individual motivation to team outcomes in a coherent, reasoned way.
  • This domain tends to pair naturally with your applied leadership plan, so think about how you would put purpose into practice.

The deeper breakdown lives in our complete guide to all three RBLP exam domains. Note that Team Learning and Organizational Learning belong to higher tiers of the leadership framework and are not part of core RBLP, so do not spend preparation time on them.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Three Domains

The issuer requires six hours of personal reflection on leader/follower experience plus three hours of instructor-led oral-exam rehearsal. Both requirements point toward the same conclusion: speaking practice beats passive reading. Here is one way to sequence the work so the domains build on each other.

Week 1

Team Climate and your reflection log

  • Begin the six hours of leader/follower reflection, capturing concrete stories you can reuse.
  • Practice explaining each climate task aloud as what, why, and how.
Week 2

Team Cohesion

  • Reuse and extend your stories, analyzing where cohesion succeeded or failed.
  • Rehearse evaluating your own experience, not just describing it.
Week 3

Individual Purpose and the applied plan

  • Draft your applied leadership plan, tying purpose back to climate and cohesion.
  • Finish remaining reflection hours.
Week 4

Oral rehearsal

  • Complete the three hours of instructor-led rehearsal.
  • Run a full-length 1.5-hour mock session and test your Teams setup.

Scheduling climate first makes sense because it frames the others, and ending with purpose lets you fold everything into your applied plan. For a broader roadmap, see the RBLP study guide, and keep the RBLP cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. You can also use the practice test site to rehearse recalling key concepts under time pressure.

How to Spot Unreliable Pass-Rate Claims

Because the real figure is unpublished, a vacuum exists, and vacuums get filled. Here is how to evaluate any number you come across:

  • Check the source. Does it cite the issuer directly? A pass rate with no named source is a rumor.
  • Check the credential. Several unrelated certifications share the RBLP acronym. A statistic about a different credential tells you nothing about Resilience-Building Leadership Professional.
  • Check the date and version. Figures tied to the older domain labels or an earlier framework version may not reflect the current exam.
  • Check the tier. Coach and Trainer certifications are separate from the core credential, and their outcomes do not transfer.
  • Beware precision without provenance. A figure like "87.4%" with no methodology is more suspicious, not less.
Same logic applies to money claims: No credential-specific salary estimate or demonstrated certification earnings premium has been verified for RBLP. If you are weighing value, see Is the RBLP Certification Worth It? and the salary guide for a cautious, evidence-based treatment rather than inflated promises.

Why the data gap is not a red flag by itself

Many professional credentials, especially performance-based ones with smaller candidate pools, do not publish pass statistics. Absence of a figure does not mean candidates are failing in large numbers, nor that they are passing easily. It simply means you should plan against the published standard, demonstrated competence across Team Climate, Team Cohesion, and Individual Purpose, instead of against a statistic.

After you pass: the renewal side

Passing is not the end of the cost picture. Certification runs on a three-year term. Core RBLP renewal costs $55, applications open six months before expiry, and a 90-day grace period follows. After that grace period, expired holders must stop representing themselves as certified. Renewal requires a review of the competency domains, a commitment to ongoing review of Community Insights material, and an attestation; no numerical CEU/CPE-hour quota is published, and certification ethics obligations continue to apply. For career context, browse RBLP jobs and the RBLP training overview.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the RBLP pass rate?

There is no verified, current pass rate published for the core Resilience-Building Leadership Professional exam. The issuer shares fees, format, and scope but not outcome statistics. Any specific percentage without a direct issuer citation should not be trusted.

Is 86% the RBLP passing score?

Not confirmed. An ACE National Guide record cites an 86% minimum per domain, but it uses older domain labels and has not been confirmed as the cut score for the current framework. Current policy uses a competency cut score whose numerical value is not disclosed.

What happens if I fail the RBLP exam?

You may take a one-hour oral reexamination for $345, scheduled 30-90 days after the original exam. If that attempt is also unsuccessful, a new full exam cannot occur until at least one year after the original exam date.

How soon do I get my RBLP exam results?

Results are emailed on the third business day after testing. Because the exam is conducted orally with RBLP's own administrators over Microsoft Teams, you will not receive a score report at the end of the session.

Does the RBLP exam use multiple-choice questions?

No. The core exam is a 1.5-hour oral assessment in which you explain what, why, and how, analyze and evaluate your own leader/follower experience, and propose an applied leadership plan across Team Climate, Team Cohesion, and Individual Purpose.

For a plain-language introduction to the credential itself, start with What Is RBLP? and then return to the pass rate hub as the issuer publishes new information. Until real outcome data appears, your best strategy is straightforward: master the three domains, rehearse out loud, and prepare as though the first attempt is the only one that counts. When you are ready to test your recall, the RBLP practice tests are a good place to start.

Ready to pass your RBLP exam?

Put this into practice with free RBLP questions across every exam domain.